Bonfire of the Vanities

Bonfire of the Vanities

I don’t know why this title came into my head, or why it was accompanied by an image of a red gallery in which the decomposed lines from the artworks were all lying on the floor. However it did, and I thought it might be a subject for a print.

I wanted to make a very solid red single masked shape suggesting a gallery with pictures: I sketched a few options and then chose one with the perspectives of two walls, as this gave the most interesting shape per se, but also communicated the best. I tried to ink this very thickly, as I didn’t want a speckled finish this time. As a result some of the ink has squeezed out from the sides of the mask and the lines aren’t completely straight. After leaving that to dry, I used a dark-grey inked plate, which had been left in the very hot sun to dry, to backdraw lines on the print. I like the contrast between the hard shape and the soft lines, the bold shape, and the simplicity of the colours. If it were possible to emboss the paper, that might be a good development. The thick ink has left a raised surface on the print- this has also picked up ink from the grey plate and so the red has got a bit dirtied, but I don’t know how to solve that.

Bonfire of the Vanities I

Using the same colours- as I think it’s the colours of fire and ash that make me relate to the title- I made another simple shape and again used backdrawing. Ostensibly it’s a vase and dead flowers, but it could refer to any process of dissolution.

Bonfire of the Vanities II

Leave a Reply

